January Featured Info-Pro Employee: Melissa Ott

January Employee of the Month

In our employee of the month blog series we highlight a different Info-Pro employee every month so you can get to know us better! Up this month? Melissa Ott

Employee Name/Title

Melissa Ott, Escrow Search Operations

What do you do in your role at Info-Pro?

I am a co-Search Lead on one of the Escrow teams at Info-Pro. I request tax bills, search for tax amounts and research inquiries from lenders when they have questions regarding parcels or payments. Some of the states we search are Michigan, Pennsylvania, New York, Massachusetts and Missouri, just to name a few!

How long have you worked at Info-Pro?

I have worked at Info-Pro for 15 months. I started out searching in Delinquent and moved to Escrow in the winter of 2019.

What other jobs have you had prior to working at Info-Pro?

Just prior to joining the team at Info-Pro, I worked in education. I taught US History and was an aide in the Special Education department. Taxes and education might seem unrelated, but a similarity they share is my role in the middle. At school, I prepared lessons and work the teachers gave me to best fit the students’ needs. At Info-Pro, I take the tax information the agencies share and research any nuances the state or municipality may have to best fit the lenders’ needs. I enjoy being the “go-between”. In college, I worked in a retail Customer Service department for 4 years and gained a lot of insight into the business world and keeping customer experiences positive.

What’s your favorite thing about your job or working at Info-Pro generally?

I LOVE the people I work with! Info-Pro has such a team mentality. We all help each other out and lift each other up. The workplace environment is friendly and welcoming, and the company core values are visible in interactions daily. Those values extend out into the community, where we are helping to make a difference. I am proud to be a part of the team!

Tell us about your family.

I grew up in Fond du Lac and have lived here all my life. My parents, John and Bonnie Redding are retired teachers, and my sister Amy is an art teacher. I have been married to my husband Mike, an electrician, for almost 20 years. We have two sons. Jared is 17 and Nathan is 14. Our animal family is a dog, Kaiser, and two cats, Miller and Aurora.

What do you like to do in your free time?

I love to travel and spend time with family. Last year we drove a camper out to Montana and then up to Jasper in Canada, and the year before that we went on a cruise with stops in Puerto Rico and St. Thomas. I am a history buff and like to research genealogy. My favorite genres of literature and cinema are historical fiction.

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Fond du Lac, Wisconsin! 

What’s your favorite thing about living in Wisconsin? 

My favorite thing about Wisconsin is my yard in the summer. The flowers and trees are so beautiful!

Share an interesting or fun fact about yourself.

I like to eat pizza with peanut butter.