September Featured Info-Pro Employee: Joe Korbel

September Featured Info-Pro Employee: Joe Korbel

In our employee of the month blog series we highlight a different Info-Pro employee every month so you can get to know us better! Up this month? Joe Korbel.

Employee Name/Title

Joe Korbel, Software Engineer

What does your role entail at Info-Pro?

I work on our Info-Exchange platform - developing new features, maintaining existing features, and fixing bugs. I also assist in facilitating some of our Agile ceremonies leveraging past experience in both development and project management.

How long have you worked at Info-Pro?

I’ve been with Info-Pro for 15 months, beginning in May of 2020.

What other jobs have you had prior to working at Info-Pro?

I was commissioned as a Cyber Warfare Engineer after graduating college in 2013 and was stationed out of Ft. Meade Maryland. I was in the Navy for five years and split time between Naval Information Operations Command and Naval Cyber Warfare Development Group working on a wide variety of development projects. After the Navy I spent 18 months working at TDS Telecommunications on their TDS TV+ platform.

What’s your favorite thing about your job or working at Info-Pro generally?

Everybody on the engineering team has been great to work with, and the focus on caring for employees is apparent in the thoughtful gift baskets and frequent virtual events such as bingo, the Summer Scurry, and fantasy football.

Tell us about your family.

My daughter Kennedy is 12 years old, and we’re incredibly close. We bond over reading together, Marvel and Star Wars movies and shows, snowboarding, yoga, and spending a lot of time outside.

What do you like to do in your free time?

In addition to the above (snowboarding, yoga, and movies) I am currently training to run the Eau Claire marathon this fall. I’m also a rescue diver for the Columbia County Sheriff’s Department, and I enjoy latin dancing, studying languages, traveling, gardening, working out, and trying anything new that piques my interest.

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Rice Lake, Wisconsin.

What’s your favorite thing about living in Wisconsin? 

Being close to my family. My parents live here as well as my siblings, their spouses, and many nieces and a nephew.

Share an interesting or fun fact about yourself.

I was on a semi-professional performance Salsa team based out of Washington DC and I’ve performed in DC, Baltimore, Houston, Miami, and NYC.